If you lose your iPhone, iPad or iPod and not have another iOS device, you will find the following information useful. If you intend to remove the device from your Apple account activation lock is disabled, allowing someone else to activate and use your device.
If you decide to erase your device, you should contact your wireless service provider so they can disable your account and avoid calls, text and data usage.
The following will only work if you enabled Find My iPhone (including iPad or iPod touch).
Sign in to https://icloud.com/find on a Mac or PC with your Apple ID and Password (Don’t check ‘Keep me signed in’}
You will also get an email from Apple to tell you about your iCloud sign in
Click > All Devices – you will see a list of iOS devices that are either offline or connected to the Internet
Select a device to view its location on a map. You can play a sound, activate Lost Mode or Erase iPhone
Turn on Lost Mode – this will allow you to remotely lock your device with a passcode, display a custom message with your phone number on your missing device’s Lock screen, and monitor your device’s location*
Report your lost or stolen device to the Police
Option: Erase your device – this will erase all your iPhone device information remotely. This will also mean you will be unable to use Find My iPhone and someone else will be able to use your device (Activation Lock is turned off by default)
Inform your wireless carrier that you have lost your device – provide them with the Serial Number (Settings > General)
*Note: If you enabled Apple Pay, you will be unable to make payments using Apple Pay as the device will be suspended.
IMPORTANT: If you are using iOS 8.3 must be updated IOS 10.x immediately. iOS 8.3 requires configures Find My iPhone with iCloud. It does not need to establish a phone code. If you lose your iPhone (even with the activation of activated lock), emails, iMessages, contacts, photos, calendar, etc you can still be accessed. Make sure you use a password for the device.
Remember, if the device is turned off or offline, you can even put it as lost, remotely lock it or delete it. The next time your device is online, these actions take effect.